In life, we face challenges that determine our character. These challenges are either a great achievement or a huge failure. Back when I was a kid, I was an avid fan of football. I loved watching FIFA and every day after class, I would play football with my friends. So I decided to try out for varsity. With the little experience, I felt unqualified as compared with the rest. I didn’t do well in any of the individual techniques – passing, shooting, heading, trapping, dribbling, controlling, and neither it is for any of the drills – endurance and agility drills. Despite getting in the varsity, I was part of Team D’s substitutes. Upon knowing, I felt so frustrated and discouraged. I was about to quit, but before doing so, we had our first tournament in La Salle Greenhills. There we faced the most competitive teams and toughest players. More times than not, we had a nil on the scoreboard, while other teams scored four or five and for one team it was twelve. After the tournament, I did what I should’ve done in the first place – I quitted.

For two years, I did nothing motivating; it was two of the dullest years in my life. I realized that I miss committing to a team and to improvement.  I came to a decision to go back in the varsity, but this time, with determination and discipline. Aside from our Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday training sessions in school, I would sometimes practice at home – day and night.  With the consistent routines for a couple of months, I got into Team A’s first nine a side.

In the previous years, I became team captain of the women’s football team thrice, I played internationally and nationally, and lately, I was invited by De La Salle University’s head football coach to become part of their team by the time I reach college.

From my humble beginnings in football, not only did I learn the necessary skills, but I also learned the attitudes an athlete must possess. One of it is to be tolerant of any challenges, and to become tolerant is to not maintain a habit, but to push yourself forward and be persistent in every aspect.

 

2 thoughts on “Growing in Tolerance for Frustrations

Leave a comment