“I wanna be the very best like no one ever was. To catch them is my real test, to train them is my cause…I will travel across the land searching far and wide…”

In the Pokemon series, the Trainer’s goal is to complete the Pokedex by capturing all Pokemon species using a PokeBall and training them to compete against other teams. When a Pokemon defeats the opponent, the species gains points, levels up, and undergoes evolution.

Pokemon was one of my best childhood memories. I use to love playing Pokemon pogs with my friends when I was a kid. Pogs are a 90’s kid thing. It is a game of trading and collecting the coolest collection of that time. Pogs are cardboard discs that are blank on one side and a Pokemon species on the other side. The objective of the game is to end up with more pogs than what you initially have. Players create a shuffled pile of pogs all facing down and the way to win the pogs is by flipping them over using your slammer or your “lucky pog”. The challenge and the fun part of the game are losing pogs, then getting them back, then losing them again, and so on. But as I grow up, everyone else grew too. Our past time activity of trading and collecting faded away, and our pogs disappeared one by one. Eventually, I faced more challenges, harder than the challenge of losing pogs.

The amount of stress that we had from our entire grade 10 experience was twice than what we had from our previous years. Our schedule was filled, day and night. We had harder quizzes, tests, pt’s, and projects; we had longer homework, ubd’s, readings to do, and essays to do; yet we had too little time to accomplish everything; and to top it all off, we had a Creative Action Service (CAS), and all seemed too much. Another burden that we had from our grade 10 experience was the submission of our Portfolio Assessment (PASS). A prerequisite for us to move up to senior high. PASS is a research paper that we have to conduct for an entire school year. PASS is what every Junior is stressed about as they enter the Senior year, and trust me, it will haunt you even after you’ve moved up from Junior High School for literature review purposes. Hearing from the experiences of the previous batch, PASS made me feel nervous in the beginning. It took me a lot of days to think of a topic and to even decide whether I go for historical, descriptive, or experimental. It got harder and harder towards the conclusion. Every research led to another research. A lot of trials to do and to examine. And it’s as if I had always made a mistake in my APA format that has caused me to revise the paper for nth times. Of course, somewhere in between  were the quizzes, tests, pt’s, projects, homework, CAS, etc.

I chose an experimental PASS research, entitled “A Comparative Analysis on the Efficacy of Ampicillin and Moringa Oleifera Leaves Extract Against Salmonella Species in Diarrhea.” It was a tedious process; but by doing my best I was able to beat the deadlines, finish the entire research paper, and win the best experimental PASS research. But beyond those are the learning’s that I gained from my experiences. I learned that I should always continue to search for knowledge and that I can still improve on a lot of things such as speaking, writing, researching, etc. Most importantly,  I learned that catching challenges  will test and train you on what you are capable of doing.

 

Leave a Reply

